Very Vintage

Didn’t mean to go silent there for a bit. There’s no time to sew around here and my knitting on Juliet got twisted so I had to rip back to the join. It was such a stupid mistake that I had to just walk away from it for a bit. So… no blogworthy creating has been going on around here for the last few days. Add to that a certain bee in my bonnet that has had me spending all available computer time on ebay and craigslist and I neglected this space.

New Vintage Toys

With two grandmothers having big birthdays this year I’ve twice been asked to find a memory for inclusion in a memory book gift. All that remembering got me thinking about playing at my grandparents’ houses as a child and how they had the coolest toys — ones that originally belonged to my parents and aunts. Then I started thinking about the toys at my parents’ house now. My sister has taken to giving my parents large amounts of current toys so my niece, Gabrielle, doesn’t have so much at her own house. We’re talking tons of polly pockets, little ponies, and littlest pets. And Katie and Gabrielle spend a lot of their time there arguing over that plastic junk and then leaving it spread all over the floor for my mom to clean up.

Farmer

I noticed that the things they really love to play with though are the toys that my siblings and I loved in the seventies and eighties. Now we’re talking vintage little people, vintage weeble wobbles, and vintage Strawberry Shortcake and My Friend Mandy/Jenny dolls. The problem is most of that stuff was sold by my mom at yard sales in the eighties and nineties. So, I have decided to fill in the gaps. It turns out everything is fairly easy to come by, if not cheaply, because I have no need for collector condition toys since these are going to be played with. The vintage weebles are the hardest to get a hold of by far. If the thrifting around here were better I’d try there but all of our thirft stores have almost nothing in the way of toys or children’s books. Speaking of books, tomorrow I need to tell you about the book we swapped as part of the minibook swap. See you then…

7 Responses to “Very Vintage”


  1. 1 Juneau.Eco.Mommie August 7, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Oh I love that farm! I had it when I was a little kiddie (now 29) and my favorite part was how the barn doors make the “moooo” noise when you open and close them…

  2. 2 jacquie August 7, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    oooh, my boys had this very same barn…they loved it too. i wonder if i still have it somewhere?

  3. 3 amandajean August 8, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    my sister just bought an old school house (fisher price) in fair condition for a buck. my kids loved playing with it while they stayed with her this past week. my kids also love playing with the toys that we did when we were kids…the few that remain. I love to see that.

  4. 4 martha August 9, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I loved all of the little people stuff when I was little. I had the barn and the school house too -it had a bell in a bell tower, and a swingset that the little people could fit in. Oh, and my fav. part was that it opened up and had a slide in tray that was a chalkboard and magnet board w/ magnetic letters.
    the new ones aren’t as nice -all molded plastic…

  5. 5 Stefani August 10, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Oh! I had that barn, and I loved it so much.
    You know what this means right? I’m going to have to break my ebay fast 🙂

  6. 6 Meghan January 6, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    I had the barn, airplane, house, houseboat, and a ton of little people! They were so much fun. And I absolutely adore vintage Strawberry Shortcake. I also had my friend dolls. They just don’t make toys like they used to.


  1. 1 Puppies for Tea « mama urchin Trackback on August 20, 2008 at 11:03 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives