How Much is that Doggie in the Window?

Doggie Outfit
Modeled by Katrina

It’s my niece’s birthday again and this year her gift from Papa and I was this doggie outfit. The skirt is brown corduroy with an elastic waist and an a-line silhouette. I added a single pocket on the front and a small appliqué on the back. The shirt pattern is from the autumn issue of Ottobre magazine and made from Heather Ross’s dog park print in blue. The pattern calls for gathering the sleeves and neckline before attaching the binding/trim. I hate doing that. So, instead, I attached a longer piece of binding to the un-gathered edge and then pulled a piece of elastic through. I actually think that modification will make the shirt fit longer. It would be a perfect application of fold-over-elastic (FOE) so I think I’ll try that next time.

The purse was just made out of my head. I used the dog park print on the outside and a coordinating dot as the lining, also from Heather Ross. I should have stuck a piece of flannel between the layers but didn’t. The top of the bag is the brown corduroy and the handles are made from the same crochet trim that is on the skirt. I filled the purse with Hello Kitty stickers, pencils, and notepads. I had to do something to keep our gift cool to the six year olds. She started opening the wrapped present and said Oh no, I think this is clothes….. again. The pencils and stuff seemed to save it though and my sister liked the outfit a lot. Katie must have liked it a lot too since after we were back home from the party she told me I wish I had some clothes like that. Seems like I might need to get on that.

Doggie Outfit
Modeled by Katrina
13 Responses to “How Much is that Doggie in the Window?”


  1. 1 Papa Urchin August 18, 2008 at 9:22 am

    In case your are wondering what my contribution was, I ironed the purse. 🙂

  2. 2 Sarah August 18, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Darling outfit and I just love little ones in knee socks! Way to go on the ironing, Papa!

  3. 3 Anina August 18, 2008 at 10:12 am

    So very, very cute!

  4. 4 martha August 18, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    you crack me up papa urchin.

    you outdid yourself Jennifer.

  5. 5 erin August 18, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    i have lots of ironing you can do, papa urchin. seriously.

    the outfit is super cute, jennifer. i am sure all my nephews cringe when they open gifts from me. not another t-shirt….

  6. 6 melssa f. August 18, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    all i want for my kids is clothes and all they want is 1. “something awesome like batman. mom, what’s batman?” and 2. something very, very small and plastic that i can put in my mouth and carry around all day.

    that is a sweet gift and in 2 or 3 years she’s going to be stoked on the clothes again.

  7. 7 amandajean August 18, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I love the outfit. I just bought some of that dog fabric and it is the softest fabric ever. what a perfect choice for clothing.

    and I so have to put my little girl in knee socks.

  8. 8 calegar August 18, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    That is so sweet! What a wonderful outfit!

  9. 9 Liz August 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Darling is the perfect word to describe it. I’m going to have to look into that magazine. Thanks for the link.


  1. 1 Knock on Wood « mama urchin Trackback on August 19, 2008 at 8:21 am
  2. 2 Puppies for Tea « mama urchin Trackback on August 20, 2008 at 8:23 am
  3. 3 Polka Dots with FOE « mama urchin Trackback on September 16, 2008 at 10:08 am
  4. 4 Birthday Gifts « mama urchin Trackback on August 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives