Kindergarten

Today was Katie’s first day of kindergarten and I’m already making a name for myself as a crazy lady at the elementary school. It has to do with milk. We eat a lot of organic food in our house but we’ve taught the urchins that although we prefer to eat organic food it’s okay to eat non-organic food, especially when we’re away from home. But I’m a bit of a stickler when it comes to milk. Usually, this is not a big deal because Katie and Tristan generally drink their milk at home and if we’re going to stay somewhere, I bring milk for them. Enter kindergarten and the daily milk they drink there.

First Day of School

Right now we’re sending milk with her but the school doesn’t generally allow kindergarteners to bring food from home. I guess no one else has ever made a big deal out of the milk thing though since they told me we can keep sending it with her until they figure out whether they can get organic milk or not. Katrina was very concerned about the milk — because she is even more of a stickler than I am — but I’ve convinced her that we’ll be able to figure out a solution. And if you’re wondering what the big deal is, I’ll let Katie explain — milk that isn’t organic comes from cows that get cow medicine and she is not a cow so she doesn’t need cow medicine. Her kindergarten teacher doesn’t know what she’s in for.

After School Snack - September 2

In other school related food news I’m gathering ideas for after school snacks. Katie is in afternoon kindergarten which means she has to eat lunch before she leaves for school just after 11. We arrive home hungry at about 3:00. I’m looking for nutritious ideas and I figure I might not be the only one so I started a flickr group — I’m actually amazed that one didn’t exist already. Right now there is just my one sad photo in there so share some ideas, and some photos, so my kids aren’t stuck eating apples and peanut butter every day.

22 Responses to “Kindergarten”


  1. 1 aliciaalferman September 2, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    wait, wait. she’s in half-day, right? so she eats at home? why do they give them milk? this is public school?

  2. 2 marissa September 2, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    It’s not entirely truthful, but one way around it is to list it as a “MILK SENSITIVITY” on her allergy forms/health forms. I know that you’ve already returned these forms as she has begun school, but it’s an easy fix. My daughter cannot, CANNOT drink regular milk or she turns into the Tasmanian Devil (yet she is not lactose intolerant and can eat any and all dairy products…just not milk). The school should accommodate you without any prejudice. Your food preference is not something they can legally ignore. Just sayin’!
    Good Luck, hope she had a great first day!

  3. 3 Sonya September 2, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Crazy milk lady – that is too funny! But good for you for sticking to your guns.

  4. 4 eatfruit September 2, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I’m a crazy milk lady too. To the lunch ladies next year– I say Bring It.

  5. 5 Megan D September 3, 2008 at 1:10 am

    Can you have her drink water? Drink milk from home? My friend has a blog of her son’s healthy school lunches:
    http://www.lunchnugget.com/

    Good luck!

  6. 6 Louise September 3, 2008 at 8:06 am

    That first photo is precious– she looks so focused (and a little aprehensive), just how I remember being on the first day of every school year. Don’t worry about being the crazy milk mom– it sounds like it makes her feel more comfortable too.

  7. 7 anina September 3, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I’m sure they let kids with allergies bring their own food, so why not a little bit of milk? Otherwise, maybe she could just drink water and have milk when she gets home.
    As for snacks, you could make smoothies. Mine loves that at the moment as it’s really healthy: yogurt, frozen strawberries, milk, a little bit of juice to sweeten. String cheese is a good protein source.

  8. 8 Jennifer September 3, 2008 at 10:05 am

    The flickr group is such a great idea! You might enjoy this as well:

    http://www.lunchinabox.net

    Half day kindergarten seems so much kinder. Our poor boy was up and out the door at 7:20 and home again at 3:00.

  9. 9 melissa s. September 3, 2008 at 11:28 am

    we’re a year away, but i’ve already begun worrying about the food at my son’s to-be kindergarten. the thing that makes me mad is, why do we have to become crazy milk mamas? the schools should be teaching the values of fresh, local, organic EVERYTHING! so, thanks for taking the initiative. i’m sure when (not if) our school systems finally catch up you’ll be known as the organic milk genius rather than the crazy lady 🙂

  10. 10 amandajean September 3, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    being crazy isn’t so bad. I know all about it. 🙂

    she is soooo cute in that photo.

  11. 11 Seis Manos September 3, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    My daughter Astrid started full-day kindergarten last week. She’s generally enjoying herself, though she says “we never do any work–we just play all day.” (Montessori kid….)

    I also pity her poor kindergarten teacher. We’re waiting to get a phone call from her, as my husband taught Astrid to spell the word “LAME” last night. I urged her not to show off her new word to the teacher (who seems very nice), but I have a feeling she will…..

  12. 12 Visty September 3, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    My son won’t drink milk at all, unless it has cereal floating in it. When he went to preschool and they served milk (non-organic) every day with snack, they told me they were legally bound to give him milk and nothing else.
    I called BS and told them to give him water in his cup instead. They still “couldn’t”, but gave him an empty cup and allowed him to get up and put water in it.
    That’s another idea you could try, if you’re not too worried about her missing that few ounces of milk she would be drinking there. You can always incorporate in into the after school snack.

  13. 13 Amy @ quixoticpixels September 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    She looks as cute as can be in that photo.

    I couldn’t agree with you more about the organic milk. It also just plain tastes better.

    Great idea for a flickr group!

  14. 14 mai September 4, 2008 at 12:14 am

    edamame is a great afternoon snack. my kids love to “pop” them into their mouths.

  15. 15 amanda September 4, 2008 at 10:52 am

    is that a sigg bottle I spot in the snack photo? I love those bottles. I have one in every size. my daughter is still too young to enjoy hers though.

  16. 16 Liz September 4, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I can’t believe it is even an issue. Why on earth would it matter if she brought her own milk? Crazy… Good for you to push the issue – perhaps the next mom won’t have to.

  17. 17 kelli September 4, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I’m s dental hygienist and just wanted to comment on snacks some moms give their kids after school. I have seen several snacks stuck in teeth after school (oreos-you’ve got to be kidding me, toffee candies, pop stained mouths, etc.) I applaude you for trying to come up with some healthy ones. I give my daughter yogurt, fruit even cooked veggies. She loves these as she knows treats are not allowed. There is a time and place for everything. I also try to pay special close attention to serving size. Too much food and no room for dinner. Most schools have a nutrionist available. A call to the school board to politely ask who it is so you can discuss your milk issue with them would help your cause. Good luck.

  18. 18 Liana September 5, 2008 at 12:42 am

    I don’t have kids, but read a blog who posted this snack for her kids…

    7.18.08

  19. 19 erin September 5, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    the milk issue is a big one for us too. my kids have always had organic. i am happy to report that one of the local dairies here doesn’t use hormones or antibiotics and is now available at my girls’ school. they aren’t organic – they don’t use organic feed so they don’t qualify. but no hormones! no meds! that is better than nothing. i found them through whole foods and was pleasantly surprised to see that they were in the school. maybe a little research would help you out? or check whole foods to see what brands they stock?

  20. 20 blair September 7, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I’ve never heard of not wanting kinders to bring food from home. Sounds like even the rule makers on this one see why anyone would want to make an exception. Hold your ground, otherwise schools will never need to re-evaulate at how they do things. Hope otherwise its going well.

  21. 21 jellyfish September 16, 2008 at 11:08 am

    If she’s not a cow why does she even need to drink milk meant for a baby cow?


  1. 1 Adventures of the Crazy Milk Lady « mama urchin Trackback on September 23, 2008 at 6:41 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives