Button Bonanza

So I went to a local quilt show this weekend and came away with very few quilt-related items. I told my mom that all the shops with booths there seem to have old lady fabrics — no offense to old ladies anywhere. It’s just I did not see a single fat quarter of Amy Butler, Denyse Schmidt, Sandi Henderson, and very little Heather Bailey — and all of the HB was freshcut. Now that I think about it though, most of the women there were older, at least older than me. So what I didn’t buy in fabrics I made up for in vintage buttons.

Button Show

Hello jackpot! Seriously, my mom just kept pulling more cardboard strips out of the jar and we’d both gasp and say, oh, I love that one too and then I had all of these in my hand. Really, it couldn’t be helped and used up almost all of my spending money for the month. I may be broke in cash but I am rich in buttons.

14 Responses to “Button Bonanza”


  1. 1 Katie September 8, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    ooh those flowers buttons are so cute! I am never able to resist buttons.

  2. 2 anina September 8, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Rich in buttons indeed! Those are lovely.

  3. 3 Liz September 8, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    You hit the jackpot! I can’t wait to see what you are going to do with them.

  4. 4 Sarah September 8, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I can just imagine the beautiful creations these buttons will enhance!

  5. 5 Tina September 8, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    You’re set in the button department! Oh the possibilities!

  6. 6 Louise September 9, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Buttons are irresistible, aren’t they? Nice haul.

  7. 7 erin September 9, 2008 at 7:53 am

    you probably have enough fabric anyhow! buttons are so much better.

  8. 8 Seis Manos September 9, 2008 at 9:55 am

    I’m a sucker for buttons, too–I just wish I enjoyed making buttonholes as much as I enjoy buying buttons….

  9. 9 Jennifer September 9, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    So beautiful! I really like the ones on the vintage image cards.

  10. 10 melissa September 9, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    LOVE love love vintage buttons! I can’t wait to go button stash-diving for my Feb. Lady Sweater!

  11. 11 amandajean September 9, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    hello jackpot is right! how fun.

  12. 12 Felicia September 10, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Oh, now there’s a beautiful pile 🙂

  13. 13 Abbie September 29, 2008 at 2:37 am

    hahaha…this is so funny i stumbled across your site today, i was just in a quilt shop in PA called the quilt shack and after all the obstacles i had to go through to get there, i was also hoping for some amy butler, hb or whatever else “young”, but nope, i thought the same thing…old lady fabric. glad someone else thinks the same as i do.


  1. 1 Some Bootees and a Rattle « mama urchin Trackback on March 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives