Apparently I’m No Romeo

I'm No Romeo

Juliet and I might have been star-crossed lovers but it turns out we were not meant to be together. Now don’t get me wrong, I finished her. I even put the buttons on — perfect ones I found at the quilt show — but despite all my concerns while knitting about the sweater being too small it is in reality way to big. Plus, the silhouette is not at all flattering on me, it’s so bad you are not even getting a modeled shot. So at some point I’ll be frogging the whole thing but right now I can’t stand to even look at it anymore.

12 Responses to “Apparently I’m No Romeo”


  1. 1 Amy September 11, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Aww, that’s too bad. It’s always heartbreaking when something you put your all into doesn’t live up to the dream. I can’t tell you how many knitting projects I’ve had that jilted me. I tend to opt for a “sure thing” when something like this happens…you know, a garter stitch scarf or some such 🙂

  2. 2 anina September 11, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    This is why I’m hesitant to make anything. You just never know what it’s going to turn out like. I love the color though. Very pretty.

  3. 3 Jennifer September 11, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    That’s too bad.

    It takes a while to “distance” yourself enough to be able to frog it.

    Better luck next time.

  4. 4 jessica September 11, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Perhaps we could both take deep breaths and frog at the same time…I have socks where the gauge is terrible…too bit…but I worked so hard and the thought of frogging makes me bummed!

  5. 5 amandajean September 11, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I can’t imagine how hard it will be (emotionally) to frog it. the buttons do look perfect on it, though.

  6. 6 Sarah September 11, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Ouch. That’s gotta hurt. I recommend alcohol when the frogging commences.

  7. 7 beki September 12, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Oh no, what a bummer!

  8. 8 melissa s. September 12, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    aww, and it’s so cute. that’s too bad. i’m not a knitter so i don’t know what frogging is, but it doesn’t sound like fun.

  9. 9 Margie September 12, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    to work so hard and not have it turn out. Have a glass of wine or some ice cream. Everything seems better after that.

  10. 10 Pam September 14, 2008 at 9:05 am

    That is so much work, sorry it didn’t turn out well for you!

    Best wishes.

  11. 11 busyHSmom September 18, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Oh, don’t frog it! Looks to me like you have a wonderful, thoughtful GIFT ready to be given to the right person!!


  1. 1 Shalom « mama urchin Trackback on January 27, 2010 at 6:35 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives