Adventures of the Crazy Milk Lady

We’re still adjusting to the new schedule. I feel like I am in my car all the time. So sorry about being absent. I have been getting some sewing done, a nightgown for me, two pillowcases for Katrina’s room, and a cute baby dress for a gift — forgot to take a photo. There just doesn’t seem to be any time to sit down in front of the computer and tell you about it. In the meantime, I thought I’d update you on the my status as crazy milk lady.

amuse bouche

The people who decide — it’s not clear to me who that is in this case — decided Katie can bring her own milk as long as it’s in a pre-packaged, labeled carton. That way they know that there are no allergens — except the obvious milk — in there. So that’s what we’re doing. I’m working on cementing my role as crazy milk lady though because when Katie goes to school tomorrow she will report, I’m sure, that her mommy made cheese, and then we ate it. Raw milk cannot be sold legally around here but I might buy into a share of a cow because I think it’s better for the cheesemaking. Anybody out there have any experience making cheese? The mozarella was so easy but I think it gets more difficult for the harder cheeses. We eat a ton of cheese so if I can make it I think we’ll be seeing some cost savings there. Want to make your own? We started with the New England Cheesemaking Supply Company‘s starter kit just so we would have all the equipment and ingredients.

13 Responses to “Adventures of the Crazy Milk Lady”


  1. 1 Jennifer September 23, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Hey, are we switching to photos of your afternoon snack now?

    Crazy milk lady…too funny.

  2. 2 amandajean September 23, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    mmmm…cheese. I bet homemade stuff is delightful.

  3. 3 melissa s. September 23, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    i’ve only tried the incredibly easy and yummy paneer from angry chicken’s post. but so yummy, i think i’m ready for mozarella. congrats on the milk. baby steps…

  4. 4 emily September 23, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    been wanting to try my own mozzarella ever since i read animal, vegetable, miracle – she made it sound so easy.

    and i’m so curious about this milk situation. why do they care what’s in the carton if only your child is drinking it? curious, curious about the whole thing.

    (and good for you for advocating for your child!)

  5. 5 eatfruit September 23, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Cool. I love cheese but never thought to make it, since we’re right smack dab in the middle of Cheese Land. In fact, this weekend we celebrated Cheese Days in Monroe!
    http://www.cheesedays.com/

  6. 6 anina September 23, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Yay for winning the milk battle!
    Home made mozzarella? Yum!

  7. 7 marissa September 24, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I’m glad to hear there is a solution to the milk dilemma. I’m soooo impressed with you, making cheese! I’ve always found the process fascinating. Blog more about it, will you? I’m dying to know if you find it difficult to do future cheeses.The whole thing always seemed rather…prohibitive..to me, but that may be because I was learning the steps taken to produce some very rare parmigiano reggiano….

  8. 8 melissa September 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Jennifer, I think you are so awesome. After reading your first crazy milk lady post we switched to organic milk – those hormones and antibiotics freak me out. And it was making my 5 year old smell like a linebacker. Miraculously stopped when we made the organic milk switch.

  9. 9 Kelly September 24, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    I am with you on the milk issue! Good for you making the choice to NOT compromise on this subject. Here is a link to Mother Earth for their article on making 4 easy cheeses (all cow’s milk I think) http://www.motherearthnews.com/Real-Food/2008-06-01/Make-Easy-Cheese-Recipes.aspx. We do raw milk so I am not sure how these would turn out with pasturized/homogonized milk/cream. If you get raw milk it is also really easy to make your own butter by just using a glass jar http://www.motherearthnews.com/Real-Food/1978-03-01/How-to-Make-Fresh-Butter-without-a-separator-without-a-churn-and-without.aspx.

  10. 10 Sonya September 26, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Raw milk mozzarella – home made at that? Ohhhhh! Talk about a slice of heaven.

  11. 11 Angela September 26, 2008 at 1:01 am

    we’ve been making our own paneer, mozarella and yogurt and yogurt cheese for about 3 years now, and i’ve been thinking of trying cheddar for a while now. Two issues ago, Mother Earth News had an article on cheese making that makes me think that cheddar might be do-able. if you try some other cheeses, i’d love to know how it goes!

  12. 12 Sally September 29, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I love the idea of being “crazy milk lady”. My husband thinks I’m crazy for drinking raw milk that I get from a friend (it’s legal to buy/sell in OR). He won’t touch the stuff, so I think *he’s* crazy!

    And JUST TODAY, I got my new Yogotherm yogurt maker, from the cheesemaking.com folks. I have the kit to make the mozzarella, but keep drinking up all the milk before I get the chance! Now that I also have the yogurt maker, I’m just going to have to get more milk!

  13. 13 molly September 30, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    okay, now you’re making cheese? when can I come over?


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives