Wool as Home Dec

Thanks for indulging me with Autumn Is… I have a few more posts to get to before we start heading into Winter. Now though, let’s talk yarn and sticks. The temps here took quite a dip at the end of last week and it is feeling very brisk around here. This morning we even had a real frost. Time to start thinking in wool. And what better way to feed the wool-obsessed brain than with a bowl of it on the coffee table.

Yarn Centerpiece

Some people pay for those little orbs made of raffia and sticks to display in a bowl. Me, I just go diving in my stash. It must be working because I have been getting some knitting done. That little bit you can see there next to the bowl is an almost complete first sock for a friend. Not shown is a the first completed mitt of a pair for someone else. Don’t worry ladies, I’m rotating these two projects so I show no favoritism. Hopefully those two will have warm feet and hands, respectively, by election day.

Go LSSU Lakers!

This hat is also 1 of 2 as a thank you for another friend who generously sent me a big box of goodies. Denise and her crew are devoted fans of LSSU hockey so the hat is in that team’s colors. Seen here, modeled by Tristan, I want to see how it fits her boys to see if I need to make the next one bigger or smaller. The pattern is thorpe and the yarn is malabrigo. The next one might be yellow with blue on the edges, what do we think about that?

6 Responses to “Wool as Home Dec”


  1. 1 anina October 20, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Yay for knitting season!

  2. 2 erin October 20, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    i think anything in malabrigo is perfect.

  3. 3 amandajean October 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I’m so excited for my socks! woo-hoo! the yarn centerpiece is just PERFECT!

  4. 4 melissa October 21, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I am knitting socks for october- through the loops mystery socks, plus finishing Christmas socks for my mother and a friend. My goal is to have 3 completed pair by the end of the month. I’m more than 75Z% there on all three!

  5. 5 Jennifer October 21, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    That is a great centerpiece! So inspiring.

  6. 6 sheree October 24, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Don’t you just love this time of year…knitting season, bring it on baby! 🙂 Your little guy is soooo cute!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives