Luggage Tags

Does someone in your house travel frequently? Someone in our house does. Actually, he doesn’t travel nearly as much as he used to which seemed like it was constant. I found myself on repeat saying I’m so glad you’re enjoying São Paulo/Mexico City/Paris/Barcelona/Bonn/London/Seoul/Tokyo but I’m 5 months pregnant and Katie has bronchitis so I don’t really want to hear about it. Okay, well it wasn’t always that bad but I was afraid that I would go into labor and he wouldn’t be here. Anyway, now he’s on an airplane far less and often he’s traveling domestically so that means the trips are shorter too.

Luggage Tags

So back at Father’s Day — yes I said Father’s Day and I’m not blogging about it until now, I told you I had some stuff to catch up on — the kids gave him a new piece of luggage but that seemed like a little bit boring. Plus, we’ve had a hand theme going on the last few years. If you travel at all you know that most of the luggage out there is black and your suitcase can be easily confused with someone else’s. Enter the urchin hand luggage tags. These were about the easiest thing ever to make and so cute.

Luggage Tag

I traced their hand onto a piece of freezer paper and cut it out. Then I traced the shape onto a piece of timtex. Next, I cut a small red heart from wool felt and machine appliquéd it to a piece of denim. Line up your freezer paper hand on the denim so the heart is under the palm of the hand and iron it to the right side right over the heart. Now you’re going to make a sandwich on your worktable like this: denim (wrongside up) + timtex + denim w/heart (rightside up) and freezer paper. You want the freezer paper and timtex to line up as best you can. Then you just sew around the freezer paper as close as you can to the edge of the timtex. After you’ve sewn around you can cut out the hand shape from the denim leaving a small seam allowance – the edges will fray with use. I used my grommet punch thingy to add a grommet and then threaded a piece of ribbon through to attach it to the luggage. A piece of leather lace would probably be sturdier. Cute and easy… perfect.

8 Responses to “Luggage Tags”


  1. 1 Papa Urchin November 13, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Interesting how those international phone line work. I seem to remember calling and saying that I was jet lagged, lonely and working like a dog. The tags really are handy though and a cute reminder of the kids.

  2. 2 alisha November 13, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    The luggage tags are adorable. I’m going to add this idea to my list of handmade holiday gift ideas. 🙂

  3. 3 martha November 14, 2008 at 9:52 am

    papa urchin is funny.
    I think he should do a guest blogging stint:)
    I’m with Alisha -perfect for gifts.

  4. 4 leslie November 14, 2008 at 9:52 am

    i LOVE this idea!!! i too want to make some for Christmas gifts!
    thank you.

  5. 5 Kirie November 14, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Great idea! Thank you for sharing this one. I think the visiting grandparents might take a few handtags home on their return trip…

  6. 6 amandajean November 15, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    so cute! and they WOULD make identifying your bag much much easier.

  7. 7 sarah November 20, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    These are really great. I love them. My husband just started a new job that has him traveling. My youngest is 6 and is having the hardest time out of the 3 kids with Daddy being gone. Maybe I’ll have him help me make one of these for Daddy for Christmas. Thanks!


  1. 1 A Few Ideas for Daddy’s Day « mama urchin Trackback on June 19, 2009 at 12:09 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives