Lady Grey

Mitts

Mitts for Melissa. They’re to go with her new blue coat. She wanted grey and then I found this local alpaca. We mutually decided on something cable-y and I settled on dashing. I held the yarn double and while my stitch gauge was pretty good my row gauge must have been way off. If I knit as many rounds as called for these would have been up to Melissa’s elbows at least.

Mitts

When I finished knitting them they were looking a bit so-so and feeling a bit scratchy. A gentle wash later they are soft and fuzzy and cable-y and I could almost keep them myself. Instead they are headed off to Portland and their arrival might just coincide with another arrival in the buttoned up house. I hope so.

Mitts

Dashing Grey Mitts
Pattern: Dashing, by Cheryl Niamath
Yarn: local undyed 100% alpaca
Needles: US size 6
Gauge: 5 st/in
Yardage: 2.5 ounces
Modifications: I knit fewer rounds than called for to accommodate my row gauge

8 Responses to “Lady Grey”


  1. 1 melissa November 17, 2008 at 11:19 am

    those are so so pretty. I have some kettle-dyed light green wool calling out to be mits- I may have to make two pair of these (and I’m already scheming a package for that other new arrival.)

  2. 2 inga November 17, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    and they are gorgeous! I still hadn’t got a knitting book, but did buy some knitting needles, I’m baaad))

  3. 3 amy h November 17, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Ooh, lucky Melissa. Those look so cozy.

  4. 4 Butzeballchen November 17, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Those look warm and cozy!

  5. 5 amandajean November 17, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    they are beautiful!!!

  6. 6 sheree November 18, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    So pretty. Look at those cables. I am still too chicken to try that technique. It just looks so hard…my eyes cross when I see the patterns. Maybe I should find a class and give it a try…I just love the look!

  7. 7 Morgan November 20, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Love, love LOVE these!!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives