Sucking Mittens

About a week ago when I finished those dashing mitts for Melissa I was thinking how cute they would be in a smaller size. Tristan sucks his fingers and every winter he and I battle to keep his mittens on. I put them on, he takes them off, I put them on, he takes them off and throws them… I’m guessing you might have had some experiences like this too. Fingerless mitts might just be an answer to our problem.

The Original Pair

So this idea consumed me until I made some mitts that were three-year-old size — three years old! — and it turns out they are a big hit. He calls them his sucking mittens and I can put them on before we leave the house and they remain on until we get home. A small miracle for sure.

Hot Cocoa

I started thinking though, kids are the perfect candidates for fingerless mitts. They’re the ones who need their finger dexterity to pick up that leaf, or pebble, or twig. Me, I just stand there with my hands in my pockets. So, I made another pair, for Katie this time, and since she will mostly be putting them on without my help I knit the thumb on the right mitt in a contrasting color so she knows which hand to put in which mitt — a purely aesthetic thing, no issue for fit. Katie not only wears her mitts outside but inside too.

More Mitts

I really knew I was onto something when Katie asked me to make a pair for her friend’s birthday gift. And considering they take about 42 yards and two hours of knitting they are just about the perfect urchin gift. So do you have some hands that need warming? Well, download the pattern and start knitting friends. Make sure you let me know if you encounter any problems or the instructions are unclear. And show me your finished mitts too!

12 Responses to “Sucking Mittens”


  1. 1 inga November 24, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    these are so cool!))

  2. 2 Quinn November 24, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I love these for kids and I was thinking I might attempt to do them… I am a self taught beginner knitter.
    And I am a bit confused… Did you use circular needles or straight? I love the thought that these could be a weekend project.
    Thanks for any advice and thanks for the download!

  3. 3 anina November 24, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    What a wonderful idea! They’re really cute.

  4. 4 Morgan November 24, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Oh Man! I LOVE THOSE!! Great idea!

  5. 5 elaine November 24, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Thank you! I’m totally knitting these this weekend!

  6. 6 Margie November 24, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    mama urchin your new name is mama brilliant! (Wearing a cape is optional). Great idea. Now I need to learn how to knit.

  7. 7 Katie November 24, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    You officially rock for sharing this pattern! My son refuses to put on gloves or mittens, so this just might be perfect! Thanks so much.

  8. 8 emily November 24, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    thank you for posting the pattern! can’t wait to make them for l.

  9. 9 martha November 24, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    These are so cute on little ones. O was trying mine on tonight and now I think I’ll have to make him some. Thanks for the pattern:)

  10. 10 mollybalint November 24, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    oh these are so cute! And I’m going to pretend that I didn’t just read that they take you two hours….:)

  11. 11 Prairie Girl November 25, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Awesome idea. Awesome! Thanks for the download too 🙂

  12. 12 amandajean November 29, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    what a perfect solution!

    my kids use my arm warmers….they want some in their sizes. (how can i resist that request?)


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives