Have You Sent Your Hats?

You’ve still got a tiny bit of time to send your hats off to Amanda. I’m pretty sure she’ll be accepting them through the end of the week. I’m sending a bunch but I know that any you can send would be appreciated. The reason I’m sending so many is because my Daisy Girl Scout troop made some at our meeting last Friday.

Tie Dying

The girls brought me old t-shirts before Thanksgiving. I cut them up and made them into hats with Amanda’s pattern, setting the white ones aside. Then at our meeting I told the girls a bit about Haiti and how most people don’t have running water. They looked at me like I was crazy. Thanks to flickr I could show them a few photos of Haitian children — even some carrying water — they were still not convinced. Then we tie-dyed the white hats. I am no expert tie-dyer, that’s for sure, but I think they turned out well and the girls were amazed at the hats after they were un-tied. Even more amazing though was the empathy I saw as these five and six year old girls realized that there are those in the world who need our help, and even more importantly, that we can help them, even if our hands are small.

Hats
10 Responses to “Have You Sent Your Hats?”


  1. 1 Alisha December 9, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    What a great idea to tie-dye the hats made from white shirts! They look fantastic and are for such a great cause.

  2. 2 sally December 9, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    What a wonderful project to have the girls work on! You are the best troop leader!!

  3. 3 martha December 9, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    The hats are beautiful!
    The perfect project for little hands and hearts too:)

  4. 4 anina December 10, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Oh, those are so cute!

  5. 5 amandajean December 10, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    what a great way to get the kids involved to help other kids! the hats look fabulous.

  6. 6 Liz December 10, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Fantastic. I love that you got all the girls involved!

  7. 7 jacquie December 12, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    i sent some too, but i do wish i’d have thought to do something fun like this. these are so great!

  8. 8 Morgan December 12, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    These turned out great!!

  9. 9 Dayna January 12, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Hi – I just found your blog from your comment post at mama to mama. I am really enjoying your blog and was sure to bookmark it so that I can come back and see more of your crafty goodness.

    I love that you got your gs troop involved in the cap project. The tie-dye looks great!!

    Looking forward to stopping in again some time 🙂

  10. 10 Maria February 15, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    HI, I just happen to run into yr blog. I’m a new GS Leader & was wondering how you go about getting involved with charities like the one you made the hats for?
    Love yr Blog, I’ll be bookmarking it too.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives