Right Now

I often wonder if the soundtrack of the urchins’ childhood will be the shrill beep of the smoke detector. That thing goes off an awful lot in our house. I also wonder if the tract home kitchen designer responsible for it’s placement has ever cooked anything. Oh, well. 2009? Can you believe it? I love the new year. A clean slate, a new start, and all that. I also really like the quiet stillness of January. A fire in the fireplace in the late afternoon while we wait for Papa to return from work.

A Clean Slate

Yesterday I dumped my yarn stash on the floor to see what I have. I’m planning to knit through Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac this year and first up is an aran sweater. A bag of red tweedy wool ought to be good for that and who knows, maybe I’ll even keep the sweater for myself in the end. I have lots more ideas and plans zipping around in my mind but for now, I’m going to stick with just this.

Right Now
9 Responses to “Right Now”


  1. 1 anina January 5, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    In our previous house the smoke detector was in the dining room which was adjacent to the kitchen where the oven was really close to the door.
    Every time I opened the oven door to take a baked item out the thing would go off. REALLY obnoxious!
    I LOVE Aran, although the only thing I’ve knitted was that darn sweater Sydney refuses to wear. (You can see it in my January 1st post.)

  2. 2 amandajean January 5, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    i love the new year, too. here’s to the stillness of january. i’m ready for it!

  3. 3 Julie January 5, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I need to dump my yarn stash and take stock as well. I’m thinking I may knit up a bunch of the wool fibers into pieces to be felted. Then, use them for various felt projects… Should be easy enough to work on while watching 24 this season! I really need to destash!

  4. 4 martha January 5, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I love the knitters almanac. I was just thinking I should read it again -it’s like a novel.
    I look forward to seeing your progress.

  5. 5 jessica January 5, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    The smoke detector goes off all the time here…someone (nameless!) put it near the stove. I’ll never do that again! I need to get my hands on EZ’s book…it it worth buying or is it a good one to get from the library?

  6. 6 Liz January 10, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Ours use to go off almost every day while we were cooking dinner. A new range hood with a stronger fan solved the problem. Thank God. I think I was losing my hearing…


  1. 1 Knitting « mama urchin Trackback on February 4, 2009 at 8:19 pm
  2. 2 Looking Back « mama urchin Trackback on January 3, 2010 at 11:11 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives