More Mitts

Dyeing Yarn

I realized I never told you guys about some holiday knitting that happened here in the urchin house. Some of you may remember that in 2007 Katie and I dyed some yarn and then I knit scarves from that yarn for her teachers. I was prepared to do the same thing this year but Katie decided that instead of scarves she wanted me to make them mitts.

Teacher's Mitts

These are just knit in rib with a thumb gusset — I can email you the particulars if you need them — so they were very quick. The yarn is Knit Picks Bare – bulky weight again and we used easter egg dye to dye it. If you have not dyed yarn with your urchins you should really give it a try. Using food-safe easter egg dye or koolaid means that the dyes are urchin-safe too. Do wear gloves though when you are putting your hands in the dyes. Food safe or not it’s very acidic.

New Knitter

There is a bit of green yarn left, which is good because there is a new aspiring knitter in our house. She really wants to knit but is frustrated she doesn’t just know how to do it perfectly to start with. Can you tell she’s a first born? Getting her to practice anything is a bit of a struggle and knitting is supposed to be fun so I’m not pushing it. Nana and Opa are coming for a visit next month and I think practicing with Nana will hold more appeal. Nana and Opa gave her the needles, yarn, and Lucinda Guy’s book Kids Learn to Knit. Opa made the needles — thanks to Grace for the inspiration for this gift — using a dowel and Katie loves the little faces at the ends. I do too as a matter of fact. With some more practice maybe next year she can do the dyeing and the knitting too.

Knitting Needles
12 Responses to “More Mitts”


  1. 1 Alisha January 13, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Knitting is on my life of things to learn this year. It’s great Katie is learning at such a young age. The mittens look great. I hope to be able to knit up some by the end of the year. 🙂

  2. 2 Papa Urchin January 13, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    First born or Apple and Tree?

  3. 3 amy h January 13, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Ha ha, have to laugh at Papa Urchin up there. We are perfectionists in our house, too.

  4. 4 Louann January 13, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Hi, I love the mitts. I just learned how to knit and I was wondering how you add the thumb to the mitt? and do you knit in the round or flat and sew it together (if that made sense)? I’d love to try to make mittens. Thanks for any help you can offer. Louann

  5. 5 Jenn January 13, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Ooo…love those colors!!

  6. 6 Butzeballchen January 13, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    She has the knitting look down perfect, “I did what it said, why does it look like that?”

    Those needels are the cutest.

  7. 7 Aunt Jess January 14, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Aunt Jess can attest to the successful knitting teacher that is Nana. She taught me over my holiday visit out west. Of course, I may only know how to purl in another month since that is what my scarf seems to be. Oh, and I can be a bit like Katie and her mama – wanting to be able to do it perfectly from the start 🙂

  8. 8 amandajean January 14, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    i’d love to have the particulars of the mitts. i have plenty of time to knit them before we have fingerless gloves weather here. it’s friggin’ cold…we need 2 pairs of gloves at a time!!! i’m really looking forward to fingerless gloves weather. really, really!!

  9. 9 anina January 15, 2009 at 10:22 am

    How wonderful that Katie’s picking up the family tradition! As a firstborn I know how hard it is for things not to be perfect the first time.
    Hang in there Katie!

  10. 10 Emily January 15, 2009 at 10:44 am

    What beautiful color choices! My daughter is learning to knit as well, though she is 22!

  11. 11 Julie January 19, 2009 at 1:54 am

    OK – I’m going to need to try this in 2009. Thanks for the link to the bare yarn…


  1. 1 Teacher Gifts « mama urchin Trackback on December 22, 2009 at 10:04 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives