Baptize!

My nephew Bobby was baptized yesterday. My brother was in charge of getting the cake for the luncheon they had after church and I guess he wasn’t sure what the bakery should write on the top. So, there in bright blue royal icing it simply said Baptize! All I can say is that we warned my sister-in-law before she married him. Back in my marriage, I asked Papa to make a rattle for us to give Bobby back in December but he forgot, I forgot, and then he went to Vegas for over a week. Bleh. So, Saturday afternoon while I took Katie to ballet — and got some gorgeous cashmere fabric for $15 a yard, yippee! — he sat Tristan in front of the playroom TV and went to his lathe to make this:

Rattle

Can I tell you how wonderful it is to have a crafty husband? I know some of you already know. Seriously, if you’re single it’s something worth looking for in a prospective spouse. The wood is holly — light and tightly grained — and simply finished with butcher block oil to be totally safe for a baby mouth. He also chose holly because the wood is from a holly tree that grew at the house where my brother, sister, and I grew up. Papa might not be too sentimental but he knows the rest of us are. Congratulations on your baptism, Bobby. Hmmm, someone should have put that on a cake.

23 Responses to “Baptize!”


  1. 1 elaine January 19, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    hahaha I bet that cake was awesome. Maybe on the next birthday cake I’ll make, I’ll just put “birthday!”

  2. 2 Amy January 19, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    That rattle is AMAZING! And the sentimental value? Wow.

  3. 3 christine January 19, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    i’m working my brain to figure out how he made that pretty rattle. how did the hoops get on there? 😉
    i love the sentimental part of it. that makes it so much more special. besides it being a beauuuuuutiful rattle, of course. makes me want to go back in time so i can have a rattle, too. or find another justification.
    thanks for sharing!

  4. 4 Ruth January 19, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    LOL! I hope someone got a picture of that cake.

  5. 5 Papa Urchin January 19, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Don’t forget that the holly tree was originally a cutting from your grandmothers tree.

    christine, as I told Katie… “It was really hard to stretch them and not break them.:” 😉 I will tell you that you are looking at the problem backwards.

  6. 6 amandajean January 19, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    wow! go papa go!!!

    my husband in handy as in he can fix almost anything in the house. and i am sooooooooooo thankful for that!

    the cake will bring some great memories at least. and some chuckles for all of us!

  7. 7 sally January 19, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    The rattle is so beautiful!

    And “BAPTIZE”…that is hilarious…and something my husband would do! =)

  8. 8 amy h January 19, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    I think the writing on the cake was totally perfect — awesome. 🙂

    I can’t figure out how your husband got the rings on the rattle. Was it just part of the lathing? (is that even a verb?) Very nice!

  9. 10 Julie January 20, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Wow – you guys are amazing! How do you ever find the time to get so much accomplished? You must be *super* organized & efficient!

  10. 11 Pumpkinbear January 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Ooh, my guy is pretty crafty, too, but a lathe? That’s a whole different ballgame.

  11. 12 Courtney January 21, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Wow, that’s stunning. I smell an etsy shop. Baptize! Heh.

  12. 13 Visty January 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    That cake would have kept me giggling throughout the entire ceremony! Very evangelical!

  13. 14 molly January 21, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Oh my goodness! Do you remember that in our old apartment, my uncle’s woodshop was below us? He makes baby rattles like this too, and when Elizabeth was born, I was secretly wishing he’d give one to her. There were even a few on his workbench…but her never did!!! So tell PapaUrchin that I”ll be knocking on his workshop door whenever the next baby rolls around! 🙂

  14. 15 Toni January 22, 2009 at 12:08 am

    That baptize story is soooo funny.

  15. 16 erin January 22, 2009 at 9:32 am

    hooray for papa urchin! it’s beautiful.

  16. 17 Anna of Helylle January 22, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    But it was a baptize, wasn’t it? I say we need that down-to-earth prosa too. Not just poetry. But it made me laugh out loud, I wish you had a photo of the cake!
    The rattle is fantastic! A handy man is a good thing – poetry or no poetry!

  17. 18 claudia January 22, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Tha rattle is cute. Maybe the photo of this cake deserves a space at the carewrecks.blogspot.com blog. 😀

  18. 19 niki January 22, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I love that cake. Thirty-two years ago my first husband had our wedding cake inscribed, “booga, booga”. I’ve yet to figure out what he meant.

  19. 20 Sonya January 23, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Ah wood turning. If only I had a lathe. Maybe you can convince the Mr. to make some mushrooms for my (hint, hint) Mushroom Swap. That is a very fine rattle – heirloom. And the cake story, that is so great. Baptize! Cracks me up.

  20. 21 meg January 29, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    The “Baptize!” cake is absolutely the funniest thing I’ve heard all day. Maybe even all week.

    What a cool rattle!


  1. 1 Not Pneumonia « mama urchin Trackback on January 23, 2009 at 1:57 pm
  2. 2 Some Bootees and a Rattle « mama urchin Trackback on March 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives