How Do You Feel About Marmalade?

Marmalade

Had you asked me that question about 6 months ago I wouldn’t have been too enthusiastic. A few weeks ago I got a box of citrus from someone I know in Arizona. She has lemon, orange, and grapefruit trees in her yard — lucky duck — and offered to send some to me. Um, yes please. And let me tell you fruit from the tree is so much better than the grocery store, but you knew that didn’t you. Katie and Tristan were thrilled to see real lemon leaves! Yesterday afternoon I got the chance to make some lemon marmalade and I am a convert. Actually I might be a marmalade zealot, this stuff is soooooo good. Now I just need to figure out how I can sneak lemon marmalade into the dinner menu.

Marmalade

Edited to Add: I used this recipe doubled and I used 10 lemons and 2 oranges.

8 Responses to “How Do You Feel About Marmalade?”


  1. 1 emily February 2, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    all that raving with no recipe!?! sigh.

  2. 2 Siew February 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Mention marmalade and I can’t help but laugh. Years ago I was at a Christmas party with friends and we were exchanging gifts. Somehow marmalade came up and my roommate started to rant about what kind of sick person would make jam out of oranges (okay, he used harsher words than sick person but I’ll leave that out). My girlfriend reached into her basket of goodies and pulled out a jar of, you guessed it, homemade marmalade, with fruit she had picked on a recent trip to Palm Springs. We all laugh about it everytime someone mentions marmalade. Even funnier was that once he tasted real homemade marmalade – he liked it.

  3. 3 twiddletails February 2, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I love marmalade! I grew up having marmalade on toast as part of my breakfast most mornings.
    There are some wonderful marmalade recipes out there, so it shouldn’t be too hard to sneak into the dinner menu. (Search for Marmalade Chicken especially.)

  4. 5 amandajean February 3, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    fresh fruit from the trees is so much better. unbelievably so! in michigan we had fresh peaches. ripe from the tree. made my knees weak. they were outstanding. i might move back someday just for that reason. the blueberries and apples (and pears!) were dandy, too.

  5. 6 Angela February 6, 2009 at 2:27 am

    I have loved this yummy stuff since I was a kiddo. You can use it as a glaze on pork chops and chicken. I mixed a bit of salsa into it and made a kindasorta chutney. Served it with fajhitas.

  6. 7 brigette February 7, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    i’m going to make your marmalade! i love marmalade but i haven’t made it before. thanks for the inspiration!

  7. 8 Julie February 18, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Your photos are just gorgeous and your valentine’s dress for your daughter is beautiful! I have a baked chicken marmalade recipe that we love ~ if you’re interested in it, let me know and I’ll send it along.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives