Some Bootees and a Rattle

Bootees

Next up in the parade of baby gifts is this pair of baby bootees. They were made for a friend who did not know whether she was having a boy or a girl. I went with this rainbow Cherry Tree Hill supersock merino yarn — leftovers from Katie’s kneesocks — thinking it would be gender neutral but in the end I think the bootees ended up looking a little girlish. All’s well though because my friend has since given birth to a healthy baby girl.

Bootees

The pattern is Saartje’s Bootees. I made the newborn size and the colorway of the supersock merino is brights. The buttons are vintage mother of pearl and were part of this haul. I’m hoping they’re suitable for a new little princess.

Finished Rattle

The second part of the gift was a baby rattle made by Papa. This one, like the last one, is made with holly and finished with food-safe mineral oil. He’s been able to get back in his woodshop a little more recently and I think he’s been very happy about it. Is anyone seriously interested in buying one of these? I’m told that more can be made if there is interest. And, as promised last time, I’ll leave you with an action shot:

Rattle in Progress
16 Responses to “Some Bootees and a Rattle”


  1. 1 Liz March 6, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Wow – you’ve been busy. I love the tomato sweater and the booties. I really love how the straps cross in the front.

  2. 2 Marie March 6, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    The booties are really wonderful! What a great color choice.

    I think the rattles are wonderful! I’m thinking there will definitely be interest. They are beautiful! If we hadn’t just received a few lovely hand-crafted wooden rattles at our baby shower, we’d be asking for one!

  3. 3 lovestitches March 7, 2009 at 3:49 am

    The booties are gorgeous and seriously if I had a baby I would beg to buy one of those rattles!

  4. 4 melissa bridgman March 7, 2009 at 9:09 am

    talented family! happy weekend- I hope you have beautiful weather like we do!

  5. 5 Beth March 7, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    What a wonderful talent your hubby has. You are quite talented too. I made a pair of those booties for a cousin’s baby and loved how they turned out. I especially like the little button detail.

  6. 6 sprucehillfarm March 8, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Those are the cutest booties I have ever seen!

    http://sprucehill.typepad.com/

  7. 7 cluckandtweet March 8, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    oh, this makes me want to have more babies! Beautiful gifts– such lucky friends!

  8. 8 Sharla March 8, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Those booties are beautiful.

  9. 9 melissa f. March 9, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    good lord, yes, on the buying.

  10. 10 Jenn March 9, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Love the booties with the little crossed straps. I would love to buy one of those rattles. They are so simple and beautiful.

  11. 11 amandajean March 9, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    those booties are adorable…i love the criss cross straps. and how fun that it worked out with a girl being born. woo-hoo!

    i LOVE the rattle, too.

  12. 12 Valerie March 9, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I adore the rattle (the booties too of course, but the rattle, seriously, swoon), I have a niece or nephew due September 8th, I would definitely buy one.

  13. 13 Erin March 9, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Oh my goodness – those booties are just too cute!!! I love the colour and the straps just top them off!! 🙂

  14. 14 darlene March 10, 2009 at 1:54 am

    they are the cutest things ever! the yarn makes it!

  15. 15 anina March 10, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Those booties are delicious!

  16. 16 Margaret March 12, 2009 at 12:32 am

    I’ve been wanting to make a pair of Saartje’s booties for a while now, and just haven’t gotten around to it — I love the bright colors of yours. And YES, I’m definitely interested in the handmade rattles, depending on price! They’re lovely. I do all sorts of handcrafts, and my DH is a fabulous cook who intends to make all of the food for our baby (just like he makes all our food) but I don’t know anyone who does woodworking — this would be Fantastic. Please let us know.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives