A New Outfit

A New Outfit

Finally, something to show you, a new outfit for Katie. I got my new issue of Ottobre about a week ago and I’ve been itching to make a few things from it. This was a really good issue. First up was this dress. The sample in the magazine is a sundress with attachable/detachable sleeves. I modified the pattern to just sew the sleeves to the dress. The pants are just the generic pant pattern I always use modified to have a ruffle on the bottom. The sash is a strip of kona cotton with the ends cut on an angle. The prints are from Alexander Henry, not sure of the line. My mom says the outfit is a little loud and I guess it is but I kind of feel like age six and loud go hand in hand. And the verdict from the six year old is that she loves it and clothes don’t have voices so how can they be loud anyway?

Modeled
8 Responses to “A New Outfit”


  1. 1 Seis Manos May 4, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    An awesomely beautiful outfit for Katie. And it’s true that six and loud go together….wow, is it true. (My ears are ringing right now.)

  2. 2 amy h May 4, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    It’s hard to be too loud with kids’ clothes! This is fun. (Coming from someone who took her toddler out in a bright floral dress, rainbow striped leggings and a rainbow striped sweater today.)

  3. 3 Sandra May 5, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I have to go and find the new OTTOBRE issue my daughter would love this dress.Great fabric choice you`ve made!
    Have a nice day

  4. 4 Leigh May 5, 2009 at 10:57 am

    It’s a very popular fabric line right now. I think it’s gorgeous. I am having a lull in my sewing right now and can’t seem to get inspired to do ANYTHING… I hate that!! Very nice job on the outfit!!

  5. 5 Liz May 5, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Beautiful. I asked for Ottobre for Christmas and didn’t get it. Thanks for the reminder that I want to just go ahead and order it.

  6. 6 amandajean May 6, 2009 at 9:35 am

    you are so funny. i had to laugh at the line, loud and six go hand in hand. that’s been my experience, too. 🙂 it’s an adorable outfit! it looks so good on katie. i LOVE the ruffle pants to match!

  7. 7 Louise May 6, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    That new Ottobre has been in my mind lately, too. I’m thinking of the sailor shirt and shorts for my little newbie. It would only be the second thing I’ve made from my year’s subscription! This is a perfect outfit for your lovely six-year-old.


  1. 1 Sunny « mama urchin Trackback on May 8, 2009 at 2:11 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives