CSA 2009 – Week 1

CSA 2009 - Week 1

Today was the day — our first CSA pickup, hooray! For those of you who enjoy following each week I though I’d mention a few changes this year. First, we will not be getting eggs. The CSA eggs were turning out to be a little bit more money than the eggs we buy from another local farm at the farmer’s market. I’m happy to spread my local shopping dollar and we’ve always had trouble with budgeting our weekly allotment of eggs. Now I’ll just pick up a dozen if I need them. Secondly, flowers won’t start for a month or so but don’t worry, they’re coming. Lastly, this year we will be getting what the farm calls a robust share. These first four weeks will be regular sized but when the summer shares arrive in July ours will be a bit larger. We eat a lot of local veggies and Tristan eats more than he used to so it seemed a logical step for us. Anyway, I hope you guys are ready to enjoy another season of CSA photos, I know we’re ready to enjoy the veggies.

CSA Bag Contents: butter lettuce, redleaf lettuce, greenleaf lettuce, spinach, radishes, sugar snap peas, dill, garlic scapes, chives, rainbow chard

See what we got in CSA 2008 Week 1.

4 Responses to “CSA 2009 – Week 1”


  1. 1 melissa bridgman June 4, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Robust share? That’s funny- we have a hard time eating up our half-share! I still have some root veggies and shitakes (they’re still fresh and fine!)from my last csa share in mid-april. I’m hanging on to them!

  2. 2 emily June 4, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    ours doesn’t start until next week, and i can’t wait. ps – i’d love to know what you’re doing with the veggies, too, each week. just so you know.

  3. 4 Amanda June 11, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Mmmm…that looks delicious!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives