Soft Boiled

Soft Boiled

I’m having a week. You know the kind right? And even though it is my first week with both urchins out of school I don’t think that has anything to do with it. Now don’t get me wrong, they’ve added to the stresses but more in the emergency visits to the doctor and not being able to stand seeing one of them disappointed kind of way. Sometimes I just feel so unqualified for this job I have. Add to that another bout of strep and what seems like a never ending struggle to figure out why I am always so sick and tired and I’m feeling a bit like that egg up there, quivery and weepy. So, I’m taking deep breaths — and antibiotics — and trying to just muddle through. My sister-in-law is arriving for the weekend this afternoon and that will surely lift our spirits. We’re having shrimp with barley for dinner. I bought two cases of hard lemonade at Costco. A robin’s made her nest on our front porch. All good things. Hopefully tomorrow the egg will be sunny side up.

12 Responses to “Soft Boiled”


  1. 1 Louise June 26, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I feel you. I hope your weekend makes up for this week.

  2. 2 anina June 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    I hope you’re cheered up by all that hard lemonade. It often does the trick for me. :o)
    But seriously though, you may want to ask your doctor about the quivery and weepy part.

  3. 3 melissa bridgman June 26, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Parenting is hard. The first week out of school is hard. Being sick with both of those first two things happening makes it harder still. Feel better, friend. I’m thinking of you.
    xoxo

  4. 4 emily June 26, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    i so frequently feel unqualified for this job. and don’t underestimate the power of the first week of summer vacation. (and, um, the rain. don’t forget the rain!) hugs to you. (and we need a date for our summer barbeque…)

  5. 5 aliciaalferman June 27, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I hope things are looking up this weekend, my friend.
    Hugs, hugs, hugs.

  6. 6 gardenmama June 28, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Warm wishes to you mama!

  7. 7 jodie June 28, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    I am sorry to hear you are feeling unwell! Hope you are feeling better soon… Do you manage to fit much exercise into your day? I know how busy life is with kids, but if you can fit some into your day it will boost your immune system…

  8. 8 martha June 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    hope you’re feeling better by now.
    I’ve missed you:)
    xo

  9. 9 Stefani June 30, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Oh hon. I’m sorry. I hope that you’re feeling better and that your weekend was full of every good thing. Here’s to brighter days!

  10. 10 amandajean June 30, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    oh, man..that’s a lot of stuff to deal with. i hope you are all feeling better soon and that summer becomes fun, like it should be. 🙂 i’ve been enjoying my cd! thanks again for going to the trouble of putting it together.

  11. 11 molly June 30, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    i’m just catching up. ugh. hang in there. nothing worse than dragging along when you’re not feeling well. makes everything harder.
    xoxox.


  1. 1 Camping « mama urchin Trackback on July 13, 2009 at 9:08 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives