One Local Summer – Week 6

Local Dinner

Baked Chicken with Herbs, Garlic, and Shallots, Roasted Beets, Spelt Bread.

I’m so happy I’ve found a source for local flour. This time I got spelt flour and I need to figure out how to make bread with it. This bread ended up being a flat bread but it still tasted good. The chicken is a nice easy recipe and very good. The roasted beets were not a hit. In years past we’ve always given any beets we get in our CSA share away but we enjoyed some at the solstice dinner so thought we should try them. We need to figure out another way to prepare them.

– rosemary, thyme (0 miles)
– chicken (17 miles)
– butter (19 miles)
– spelt flour (30 miles)
– beets, shallots, garlic (30 miles)
– olive oil (non-local)

2 Responses to “One Local Summer – Week 6”


  1. 1 Erin July 12, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    I’ve been enjoying your local summer posts – thanks for sharing!

    The best beets I’ve ever tasted are shredded with lime butter. Shred them in the food processor then cook for just a few minutes in a nice amount of butter until tender-crisp. Add lime zest and juice to taste. I think it’s a recipe from Gourmet…

  2. 2 melissa bridgman July 13, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Ditto what erin said. Beets need a little acid- I like them with lemon, olive oil, feta, and toasted pecans or walnuts. I’ve also had a fab. shredded carrot and beet salad in vinaigrette.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives