Camping

Sorry for being absent from this space. The reason, to be honest, is because the crumminess continues. I like to keep things here pretty and happy and everything I have to report is starting to feel like a bad country song complete with my dog dying. Why is life like that sometimes? Still, there is a lot of crafty stuff to report including some finished sewing, knitting, and a burgeoning vegetable garden.

In the Tent

We went camping for the first time with the kids last weekend and had a wonderful time until we had to abandon camp early because Katie developed a serious fever – can you hear the guitar and banjo tuning up? Stefan had a race on Sunday morning so we had planned to be there two nights but we still enjoyed the one night we did stay. One thing I realized is that I need to be way better organized next time. Do you guys have any great tips?

Hikers

The other thing I need is better bedding. Friday night I woke up shivering. It’s July! Who knew I would need more than one blanket. The urchins were snuggled in the middle so they were nice and cozy, plus Katie at least was under the picnic quilt. And that got me thinking, what we need are camping quilts. But you better believe I’m not buying new fabric, this will be a scrappy affair. I’m thinking color-study log cabins like Blair‘s and Amy‘s. I love log cabins and I’ve already convinced Katie that sorting my scraps by color will be fun while she convalesces. There goes that country music again….

8 Responses to “Camping”


  1. 1 melissa f. July 13, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    BRING ON THE COUNTRY SONGS. life is neither pretty nor happy (even when you, yourself, are both) and i don’t know where we as makers and bloggers get the idea that we need to keep up the illusion. let’s leave that to the MSL editors. or home and garden. or whomever.

    (i hope you get to the bottom of the crumminess and right it. and if it takes a while, you’re allowed to say so.) much, much love.

  2. 2 melissa bridgman July 14, 2009 at 8:08 am

    melissa f rocks. It will get better.
    We use a couple of big rubbermaid boxes- one for kitchen stuff, one for bedding and towels. Keeps them dry, together, free from smells.
    The last time we went camping I came down with strep as we got there and poor gary had to do it all himself. And we were also dealing w/ a swarm of mosquitoes. It *may* have been our last camping trip ever.

  3. 3 Angel Funk July 14, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Do you read Emma Bradshaw’s blog? She just posted a camping list! http://emmabradshaw.blogspot.com/2009/07/emmas-camping-guide.html

    Also REI has camping lists on their website, although you have to watch out since the lists are somewhat geared towards buying more stuff. : )

    Hang in there!

  4. 4 martha July 14, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    did your dog really die?
    how did I miss that?
    if so, I am so so sorry!
    as far as camping goes, I think you need real sleeping bags. cotton gets damp in the outside air, no matter the temp.
    sleeping bags, filled with either fiberfill or down, won’t get damp, and so will keep you warm (but not too warm if you get the right kind).
    I use my down one even in the summer.

  5. 5 rjnbenterprises July 14, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Hi. I have a blog at http://www.picturecamping.com where I feature people’s posts about camping, and I would like to send my readers your way. Of course I would give you credit for quotes and would link back to your site.

    Thanks for considering this,

    Jean B. in SC

  6. 6 emily July 16, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    i find it hard to believe that you need to be more organized at anything. however, i am also on the prowl for a more organized system for our camping – not just a comprehensive list of exactly what we need, but easy ways to carry things to that everyone can help and the carrying is not left to the large people among us. would love to compare notes. (are we on for the barbque?)

    hope you’re feeling better – both of you. (and did your dog actually die? i’m was so sorry to read that.)

  7. 7 Alicia A. July 19, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Did your dog die?! I’m so sorry.

    I hope everyone feels better right away.

    xo.xo.


  1. 1 Somewhere Over the Rainbow « mama urchin Trackback on November 16, 2009 at 3:20 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives