Back to School

First Grader

Yesterday was Katie’s first day of first grade and she loved it, as we knew she would. Tristan goes back to preschool next week. So that means I should be back in this space with more regularity. I’m embracing my inner Amish woman and assigning chores to days – Monday: laundry; Tuesday: yard/house work; Wednesday: work at church; Thursday: cooking, baking; Friday: do whatever I want. I’m not sure the Amish have the same Friday as me but since I’m not actually Amish I figured I had some leeway. I just love back to school time, don’t you?

13 Responses to “Back to School”


  1. 1 Louise September 9, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Very cute! Happy back to school.

  2. 2 Meg Evans September 9, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Happy back to school! I know the feeling about wanting to structure the days. Since my kids went back to school last week, I’ve been really enjoying putting the house back in order. I have been trying to come up with a schedule to make it a little easier.

  3. 3 anina September 9, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Oh yay! I’m kind of happy that fall’s almost here so I can get some inside stuff done.
    I’m trying to get back on my schedule but so far it’s not been very successful.

  4. 4 erin September 9, 2009 at 9:59 am

    i’ve been considering implementing a day of the week system around here too. let me know how that works out.

  5. 5 christine in pdx September 9, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Oh – I’ve thought that might help get a handle on the chores too. Please let us know how it works out. I hope i have enough discipline to keep to the schedule 🙂

  6. 6 eatfruit September 9, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    That made me laugh. I need to get Amish, for real. I think the first thing the Amish would tell me to do it to throw the computer away. That’s totally not Amish-like at all.

  7. 7 melissa bridgman September 10, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I love that idea. esp. since my housekeeper moved and I’d like to save the money we spent on her.

  8. 8 melissa f. September 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    hah! we’re thinking alike. mine gets more specific– monday is soak the beans and make yogurt and granola day. tuesday is laundry (and wednesday and thursday). friday is whine about washing the floors and maybe not getting around to it. yours seems a little more optimistic.

  9. 9 Sandra September 10, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Happy back to school! It does feel god to have the days back in a certain routine for sure! Still trying to find a weekly shedule and STICK to it ; ))

  10. 10 martha September 12, 2009 at 6:33 am

    she is so cute and looks ready to go back:)
    you are so smart -I need a schedule like that.

  11. 11 Stefani September 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Oh that girl! She is so precious!
    I’m eatfruit… my inner Amish woman is telling me I should ditch the computer and get to work.
    But that’s not real likely to happen 🙂

  12. 12 Liz September 1, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    i just stumbled upon your blog and started going back through the archives and I had to say this post made me laugh because all my friends joke that I’m really Amish because I like to do all those “hippy/amish things” like knitting, spinning, sewing, cooking, gardening… Any ways, thanks for the laugh. You are inspiring I just hope that one day I get enough time to start canning.


  1. 1 Missing « mama urchin Trackback on October 2, 2009 at 6:07 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives