A Dress to Sing About

Choir Dress

Katie needed a dress for her choir performance at church last Sunday. At about 4:00 I was able to sneak into my sewing room for about an hour to make her one. This is not a method that I advocate but if you are in a rush and need a dress I highly recommend going the raglan sleeve/peasant top route. I have a whole bunch of this tablecloth print that I bought for about $1 a yard at Joann’s sometime after Christmas last year that I knew would be a dress, someday. If you’ve never used a tablecloth print before it’s printed on the fabric to be made into a tablecloth. So in this case, there is a brown band and a winter scene along each selvedge edge. I wanted to use that edge as the bottom of Katie’s dress and the cuff of her sleeves so I had to cut my pattern pieces sideways. The bodice and sleeves were based on pattern #18 from Ottobre 03/07. I shortened the dress length to be a bodice length, then I added a gathered skirt. For the sleeves I increased the length of the pattern piece to be long sleeved and gathered them at the cuff. We added the ribbon sash to make it a little more Christmas-y. Next time I think I’ll try to start earlier but it’s good to know in a pinch my girl can look pretty cute in a jiffy.

10 Responses to “A Dress to Sing About”


  1. 1 Tara December 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Oh so cute! I want a little girl, yesterday!

  2. 2 deb December 17, 2009 at 2:19 am

    Dear God,
    How I wish Mama Urchin had been my mum. She’s so totally awesome.
    Hugs
    deb xx

  3. 3 Meg Evans December 17, 2009 at 9:44 am

    It’s fantastic! Wonderful job!

  4. 4 gkgirl December 17, 2009 at 11:07 am

    i think this turned out adorable…
    and she is awfully cute!!
    :O)

  5. 5 Ally December 17, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    You did a great job. What a cute dress!

  6. 6 Sarah December 17, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    soooooooooooo cute! and so is the dress! 🙂

  7. 7 Thimbleanna December 17, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    That’s just cute as can be! I just love it when I see little girl mamas sewing for their little girls!

  8. 8 Liz December 24, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Very cute! I love it.

  9. 9 beth December 26, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    What a good mama with a very cute little girl inside a very sweet dress!

  10. 10 Stefani December 30, 2009 at 1:29 am

    What an adorable, sweet little lady in a completely adorable, sweet little dress.

    Loving that fabric so so much!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives