The Most Important Job

15 :: 365

Do you ever think about how just by chance you were born into prosperity? Do you ever think about how the mamas in Africa, the mamas in Southeast Asia, the mamas in Haiti all want the same things as you do for their children? I do. And this week I’ve been thinking about it even more. I’m sure you have too. There is a lot of giving going on out there and I really hope we all can give until it’s enough. But this week I’ve been thinking about how the most important thing we can do every day is to show these little ones to live with compassion and kindness in their hearts. Don’t get me wrong, I think that our financial support is incredibly important — not just when there is an urgent need but also when the need is continual — but I really believe that teaching our children to live with generous hearts in every moment will continue to make all the difference.

5 Responses to “The Most Important Job”


  1. 1 melissa f. January 16, 2010 at 1:26 am

    as far as i can remember my parents were thrusting poverty from around the world in our tiny, white, faces. i think it was one of the best things they did as parents.

  2. 3 Nancy January 17, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I agree! well said! Not only awakening our children to the fact that much of the world is in need, but also teaching them that little actions make a difference. My parents never hid the poverty of others from me and my sister; but they did not involve us directly in their various acts of charity. So that is one thing we consciously seek to do–figure out ways that our small ones can help others, too.

  3. 4 rouxhauser January 18, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Compassion and kindness in their hearts and the drive to advocate for change when they see injustice in the world. And I agree, very well said.

  4. 5 Kristin January 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Absolutely! And a side note…my parents went to Haiti when I was a child on a church mission. (Our church has a very strong presence there with 90 schools.) What they found there changed their lives, and so we are all praying right now for everyone in need.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives