Snowed In, Snowed Under

Red, White, & Blue

Have you guys been missing me? Lots has happened since I last talked with you in this space. I think perhaps a list might be in order:

– we’ve gotten about four feet of snow in three storms. Yup, four feet.
– more snow — not too much though — is expected today

37 :: 365

– Katie’s school has been open two days in the last two weeks
– Tristan has not had preschool since January 27
– Papa went to Santo Domingo twice

33 :: 365

– I had my tonsils out
– I didn’t leave the house for 11 days

31 :: 365

– I made 36 pink log cabin blocks
– 12 have been sewn into a quilt top
– I now have seven quilt tops ready for quilting
– I hate doing machine quilting
– I’m trying to figure out if it’s worth acquiring a big quilting machine, likely used and as part of my mother’s sewing business
– I started my olympic knitting – a tomten for my mom

44 :: 365

– 42 valentines were made for school
– hopefully the urchins will have school to distribute said valentines
– did I mention we’re getting more snow?

43 :: 365
11 Responses to “Snowed In, Snowed Under”


  1. 1 melissa February 15, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    we got just a smattering last night. I’ll be happy to never see snow again, and we’ve had just 7″ all winter! The stuff just will not melt. Come on, spring!

  2. 2 Mary-- The Yellow Door Paperie February 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Looks like so many things have happened. Love the snow, snow, snow we’re getting in Iowa. But I have this nagging ache for green grass.

    How are you feeling now?

  3. 3 Louise February 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    I feel the same way about the snow. The stuff falling outside now is just a little heavier than I’d prefer!

    Also, I always dream about getting a longarm machine, too, but we have no space (and those things are pricey!), so I continue to stuff those quilts through my machine’s tiny throat. Sigh.

    Here’s hoping the urchins have school tomorrow!

  4. 4 beth lehman February 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    I have to ask – about your tonsils. I think I need to have mine come out…. Dare I ask why you had yours removed? Was it horrible or manageable? I am 38 and have had massive tonsils forever – I get strep quite often. My kids have huge tonsils, too, and it affects their sleep and in one case, her speech. Just curious. elizabethlehman@hotmail.com

  5. 5 Tara February 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Yowza! Cabin fever yet?

  6. 6 erin February 16, 2010 at 10:12 am

    yeah, you’ve been just a bit busy.

  7. 7 martha February 17, 2010 at 7:40 am

    wow -so much snow! I wish that would have happened here in the midwest. I think we are better equipped to handle it:)

    hope you are recovering from your tonsilectomy. it’s so rough to have them out as an adult.

  8. 8 Adriana February 17, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Wow! I’m tired just by reading your list of things!

    I’m amazed at your energy 🙂

    Hope you’re all staying warm and you’re feeling better

  9. 9 Stefani February 24, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Wow. Four FEET??? Totally unimaginable.
    I had no idea you’d had your tonsils out! It makes my throat hurt just thinking about it.
    Are you recovered?
    Be warm and well urchins!

  10. 10 molly March 9, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Oh, goodness, and I thought WE had snow! Hope you’re slowly thawing out, over there. And my, did you make good use of your cabin fever!


  1. 1 mama urchin Trackback on September 6, 2011 at 9:44 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives