A Quilt for a Little Bird

Back in March my friend Molly gave birth to a sweet little girl and she named her Birdy. And being the fourth little girl in her house I knew that she’d be seeing a lot of hand-me-downs in her lifetime — I mean, how could she not? — so I wanted to make her something that would be just for her. I considered knitting her something but her early months are during the summer and as Molly will tell you, they have no central AC. I’ve been to their house in the summertime, woolens are not necessary.

To: Birdy

Then I remembered I had a half yard of Joel Dewberry’s aviary print in my fabric stash. Orange and brown. I love it in this colorway but it doesn’t scream baby girl so I hemmed and hawed over it for a little while. Then I decided to just go with it. I made four log cabin blocks with the aviary print fussy-cut for the center squares. I limited the logs to 6 other fabrics and did two rounds of logs. The squares were then sewn together and sashed with an orange and brown homespun that was really perfect and a lucky find. It’s backed with the same homespun and quilted with a pattern of oak leaves and acorns. After a wash it was nice and crinkly and soft, just right for a baby to call her very own.

Birdy's Quilt
7 Responses to “A Quilt for a Little Bird”


  1. 1 melissa June 30, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    that is just lovely.

  2. 2 Maggie June 30, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I love it! its gorgeous.

  3. 3 molly July 1, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I just sent you an email…

    it does have the perfect crinkle-soft factor. 🙂

  4. 4 kala July 1, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Such a beautiful quilt, I love it!

  5. 5 erin July 4, 2010 at 9:04 am

    it’s beautiful, jennifer.

  6. 6 Nancy July 9, 2010 at 12:44 am

    what a sweet gift–how perfect, and how darling.

  7. 7 sam November 9, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Just had to comment, as I too am the mother of four and my youngest daughter is named Birdie. Crazy!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives