Christmas Sweater

A couple of weeks ago I started thinking about which sweaters I am going to knit for the urchins for Christmas this year. I’m thinking Boys Can Wear Pink and Sourpatch, coincidentally both from Petite Purls. But I realized that poor Tristan’s sweater from last Christmas was never finished. Bad Mama. So, I decided that before I could start this year’s sweaters I really needed to finish last year’s. I’m so glad I did because my boy wanted to wear it all day even thought temps were in the 90s.

228 :: 365

The pattern is SK8R from Mason-Dixon Knitting Outside the Lines and knitted in Rowan Denim. I got six balls of it as a free gift for being a Rowan subscriber a few years ago and bought one more from another knitter on Ravelry. Well, I hadn’t quite finished the second sleeve and ran out of yarn! I put in a plea for anyone with the right dye-lot on the Rowan group and someone who also received it as a free gift sent me the extra skein that I needed. Thank goodness for Ravelry. After sewing all the pieces together I washed the sweater in hot water and dried it in the dryer. It shrunk up nicely and is still a bit big on my size 5 boy — the pattern calls this a size 4-6 — so I think he should get a couple of years out of it. Click through to the project page if you want more details.

SK8R
4 Responses to “Christmas Sweater”


  1. 1 Morgan August 18, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I love it! I just had a friend over last weekend to teach me how to knit- wish me luck!!!

  2. 2 kala August 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Very cute, I love the denim yarn!

  3. 3 leslie August 26, 2010 at 11:06 am

    SO cute!!! i LOVE how big it is!
    i made my three sweaters out of that yarn. matching with stars. honestly one of my favorites ever.
    i did however have blue fingers while knitting. did you?!

  4. 4 Yarn Bazaar September 5, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Knitting is so cool, but something I could not do. I have a feeling that you said that same thing a few years ago though. But anyway, thank you for posting! Keep it up. Love the color.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives