Hiking the Appalachian Trail or How I Spent My Columbus Day Weekend

View from the Appalachian Trail

We spent last weekend camping in Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We had perfect weather and perfect company. It was a really fabulous weekend. I had my doubts about four days in the wilderness without showers or hot water but it turned out to be relaxing and so much fun.

Appalachian Trail

One of the highlights, and there were many, was spending some time hiking on the Appalachian Trail. For those unfamiliar, the Appalachian Trail runs along the mountains of the eastern coast of the US from Georgia to Maine. We walked for a very short time along the ridgeline that separates Tennessee from North Carolina near the top of Clingman’s Dome. We had driven our cars up the 6000+ feet and only walked the last half-mile or so to the summit, thru-hikers walk the whole way up. We picked up the AT on our way down from the top and it was so beautiful and peaceful compared to the paved tourist-filled path from the parking lot. It reminded me to always be on the lookout for the road less traveled.

Appalachian Trail
3 Responses to “Hiking the Appalachian Trail or How I Spent My Columbus Day Weekend”


  1. 1 Ivy October 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, lovely photos! One thing I kick myself for is not hiking any part of the Appalachian trail or much at all, even though I grew up in Asheville. All that beautiful scenery so close, and I never took advantage of it.

  2. 2 melissa October 17, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    the next time I’m near any section of the AT we will hike several miles of it. even if we have to backtrack our way back to the car.
    it was wonderful.
    xo

  3. 3 Grace October 20, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    SO fun. I wish we had some good camping buddies! Alicia was supposed to camp with us last year but they couldn’t schedule it in because of baseball and other activities.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives