Retreat – Emphasis on the Treat

Last weekend I was lucky enough to head to Colorado again to hang out with Tara and Amanda for Amanda’s annual quilting retreat. Even though I hadn’t seen them in two years we just picked up where we left off. I cannot express how much I love sitting with friends and sewing. I swear Amanda can get me to try just about anything — she’s the one who first got me sewing triangles — and this time she finally got me free-motion quilting. Amanda’s sample quilt is so inspiring and mine is really coming together, I hope to show you some of it soon.

Red Roof Mini Quilt

There were lots of great women at the retreat and I was lucky enough to sit next to Penny who I have decided I want to be when I grow up even though I think we’re almost the same age. I took no decent photographs, the good camera stayed at home so I could take the sewing machine. That little quilt up there was my contribution to the mini quilt swap, I’m calling it Red Roof since the red triangle in the top left log cabin looks like a little roof on a blue house. It went home to live with Amanda and that makes me very happy. An Amanda made pillow came home to live with me.

Now it’s back to regular programming except that I have a crazy busy week and Tristan’s birthday party on Saturday. Thanksgiving is next week — how did that happen?!? We have company headed into town and lots to do. I just love this time of year, and it’s even better with the possibility of a finished quilt on the horizon.

6 Responses to “Retreat – Emphasis on the Treat”


  1. 1 randi November 15, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    it was so great to get that nudge to try new quilting designs. they were a lot simpler than i thought they would be!

    it was great to meet you! i will be following your blog adventures now. 🙂

  2. 2 Tara November 15, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    I loved how it felt like it had only been a little bit since I’d seen you! I’m still recovering, but it was absolutely worth the sweat and tears!! Your package is posted. I had thought to add some goodies for you, but there was no room! Next time! Maybe even in April for penny’s retreat!!!

  3. 3 Audrey November 16, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    It was so nice to get to meet you, and I will definitely be keeping up with what you are up to! I didn’t get any good pictures there either. Oh, well! I loved your mini quilt, and I had no idea that you really had not tried free motion quilting before! You did awesome!

  4. 4 erin November 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    sounds wonderful!

  5. 5 amandajean November 30, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    i am SO GLAD that you came to the retreat! and i absolutely love it too, that we picked up where we left off. It was a delight to sew with you the entire weekend. and i totally appreciate that you gave Tara so much grief when i was too tired to. 🙂 too bad the weekend flew by….

  6. 6 amandajean November 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    oh! i forgot to mention that i absolutely LOVED your post title. it made me smile.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives